Who We Are

We are the Central District consisting of Lutheran congregations in the provinces of Saskatchewan, Manitoba and Northwestern Ontario, who are working to advance the mission and ministry of Lutheran Church-Canada.

Brief History

The district was created in 1922 at a convention in MacNutt, Saskatchewan, and was then known as the Manitoba-Saskatchewan District of the Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod (LCMS).  In 1988 the three Canadian Districts of the LCMS formed Lutheran Church-Canada and became a partner church to the LCMS.

In 1990 the district’s name was changed to the Central District as we welcomed congregations in Northwestern Ontario who had been previously part of the Minnesota North District, LCMS.  Our name also reflects our geographical position between the other two LCC districts: Alberta-British Columbia and East.

Past District Presidents

Rev. P. Wiegner … 1922 – 1927

Rev. C.T. Wetzstein … 1927 – 1930

Rev. J.H. Lucht … 1930 – 1951

Rev. L.W. Koehler … 1951 – 1970

Rev. P. Fry … 1970 – 1978

Rev. R. Holm … 1978 – 2000